Women's History Month Celebration
"Women Rising:  Education, Enlighten, Empower"
March 6, 2021 at 10:00am Virtual Event

Donations appreciated.

Program:  Six women who embody the three aspects of our theme, “Women Rising,” highlighted their experiences and views on each: Jade Leasure and Angela Baldwin on Education, Erin O’Neill and Jennifer Evans on Enlightenment, and Jordan Leasure and Sherita Ceasar on Empowerment.

Honorees: This year we recognized outstanding women chosen by participating LCWC organizations who have inspired and motivated women and girls to attain education, enlightenment, and/or empowerment. 2021 Honorees are:

Dale List is a member of Alpha Nu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, a professional women’s organization.  She raised a family of seven children—4 girls and 3 boys--before going into teaching in Libertyville.  As a teacher she made a difference in several ways. For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Mary Kay McNeill was honored by GFWC Antioch Jr. Woman’s Club. In 1992, Mary Kay became the first woman principal for Antioch School District #34, beginning at Antioch Lower Grade School and retiring from W.C. Petty School. For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Elyse Danckers was honored by AAUW Waukegan Area Branch. Elyse well represents the theme of “Educate, Enlighten, and Empower.” She leads Waukegan to College (W2C), an organization she helped found over ten years ago.  For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Michelle Wiejaczka was honored posthumously by Association of Women Attorneys of Lake County. Michelle exemplifies the theme “Women Rising: Educate, Enlighten and Empower” through her contributions to the Lake County legal community, her support of AWALC, mentoring younger attorneys, advocating for the LGBTQI community, and representing the less fortunate. For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Celeste Flores was honored by League of Women Voters of Lake County. Celeste has been educating and empowering Lake County residents of all ages, faiths, and backgrounds through her environmental work with nonprofit organizations. As co-chair of Clean Power Lake County, Celeste has advocated for a transition plan for the Waukegan coal-fired power plant and for a sustainable future. For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Dr. Chris Clark was honored by GFWC Zion Woman’s Club. Dr. Clark is a lifelong resident of the Zion-Benton community who, as a young married mother of two, left an executive assistant position in corporate America to serve her high school alma mater—Zion-Benton Twp. High School District 126 and ultimately advanced to Superintendent during her final 12 years.  For complete bio CLICK HERE.

Ghostlight Readers:  Students from Round Lake High School performed an original arrangement of songs of empowerment to celebrate the occasion.  

Scholarships:  All fundraising of the Lake County Women’s Coalition, including this event’s auction, goes toward scholarships at the College of Lake County for women who are returning to school to enable them to pursue their chosen careers.  

The Women's History Month celebration is important to the mission of the Lake County Women's Coalition as 100% of the proceeds continue to fund our scholarships for women, 30+, at College of Lake County. Donations are appreciated. To donate, please mail to Patti Rische, LCWC Treasurer, 1233 E. Oakwood, Fox Lake, IL 60020.


Cheryl Hudson-Jackson

Mano a Mano Family Resource Center

Women's Business Exchange

Women's Business Network


AAUW Waukegan Area Branch 

GFWC - Antioch Junior Womans Club 

GFWC - Waukegan Womans Club  

The Clay Family 

Debbie Larker

Dr. Chris Clark

Young Democrats of Lake County 

Dorothy Roderick 


Linda Bartmes 

Marilyn Goodman 

Kathy Kowalczyk

Grace Robinson

June Maguire 

Janice Bodily

Rosemary Heilemann



Jannelle White, JLWMedia312 Multimedia Production

Kim Penny, CyberSizzle Media




Pop Up Panel

Here is the pop up panel you can use to promote of any product or service that you think your customers should see at the very bottom of the website. You can use 6 different modules positions between intro-1 and intro-6.